As I read the story of the tree of life today, I considered the invitation to reflect on where I am now, and where I am going.

With my life right now, this was quite equally exhilarating as it was eye-opening:

Now I am pressing forward, going (slow and steady) toward eternal life.

Now I am clinging to the rod, going (again, slow and steady) toward a deeper understanding of God’s plan for me.

Now I am waiting for baby, going (in a few short weeks) toward the divine role of motherhood.

As I considered these three things, I felt blessed to know where I stand. Then, I thought about the big symbols in the story, and I wanted to share my personal take-aways with you:

The tree is the goal.

In the story, multitudes press forward despite the dangers of mountains, trenches, rocks and ridges, towards this tree. This calls my attention. What can be so powerful as to draw so many? The glow from the tree cuts through the darkness, bids the multitude to endure the journey to reach it. Depicted in many artist interpretations (note the beautiful Greg Olsen illustration) as a sparkling white tree illuminated through the mists, the tree is something so beautiful that one can feel almost as much as one can picture it.

So, what is the tree?

The tree represents the love of God, which bears fruit to the most valuable thing we can ever obtain- the true prize of our earthy journey.

The fruit is the prize.

Because of God’s love for His children, he has made eternal life attainable to each of us through the atonement of our Savior. The fruit on the tree, sweeter than all other fruit, represents the sweet joy and peace that is eternal life. The taste of the fruit brings eternal happiness. 

As the young prophet Nephi learned: the fruit of the tree represents “the greatest of all the gifts of God.”

Eternal life.

lehi_s_dream_large

The goal and prize mean little if we obtain them alone.

I was overwhelmingly impressed by the importance of an eternal family in my personal journey to the tree of life. Maybe it’s because I am thinking about my impending arrival to motherhood each and every day, but I know that the family is central to God’s plan for us, particularly in our journey to eternal life. 

Part of the joy of reaching the tree comes with seeing the people we love reach it as well. The closest to heavenly joy I have felt has always been in the moments I share with Tyler and in the walls of the temple where families are united for time and all eternity. I think this is a glimpse of the joy we will feel together as we reach our spiritual goals and return to be with our Heavenly Parents again. Seeing the joy of my spouse as he feels the love of God in our lives brings me even greater joy.

“And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit.”

1 Nephi 8:12

The rod will never fail us.

The iron rod, for me, represents the guidance of God in our lives. We can find this through personal prayer, through study of the scriptures, and through the whisperings of His Spirit to our hearts. His Word is something we can lean on for support when otherwise we might fall.

Sometimes we may find the darkness along the path suffocating, and our hand will slip away from the rod. Sometimes we will be convinced that our own path will be easier and we will let go. Even in those times, in the instant we turn back for help, the rod will always be available for us to cling to again.

“…For notwithstanding I shall lengthen out mine arm unto them from day to day, they will deny me; nevertheless, I will be merciful unto them, saith the Lord God, if they will repent and come unto me; for mine arm is lengthened out all the day long, saith the Lord God of Hosts.”

2 Nephi 28:32

Holding to our personal iron rod, we can navigate the rocky paths along our way and have a support through any darkness that we might encounter.

If I cling to and live by His guidance, He will guide me. 

The tree of life is a story we are living.

Lastly, as much as you feel connections to the different symbols in the story, you are just as much a live-action participant in the journey to the tree of life.

In the account, families press forward through various obstacles and challenges to reach the tree of life and eat the fruit, which represents eternal life and God’s love. The journey is not easy for everyone, however, and many fall away from the path or are convinced the journey is not worth it along the way. They are not able to partake of the fruit.

Everyday we choose things that determine where we are in this journey to eternal life. One day I might be a wanderer, the next someone clinging to the rod, and the next someone that calls out to the people who are lost, bidding them to come back to the rod. I know I’ve been all three of those things in one day.

Cling to the rod of iron to reach the tree. Encourage the people you love in your life to do the same. The trials and rocky paths along the way will only make the fruit taste sweeter because we will reach it knowing that we endured to the end, trusting in the guidance we received from God.

Study your story.

Read the account of the tree of life for yourself, and ponder where you are now, and  where you are going.

Write down what you feel, and share it with those you love. I know I will.

1 Nephi 8  (see also 1 Nephi 11:4-25, 32-36; 12:16-1; and 15:21-33, 36)

 

Sarah J

 

Leave a comment